Tuesday is Election Day

Tuesday, April 7, will be Election Day, and local registered voters are encouraged to cast their votes for city council, school board and Meadowlark Extension District #7 representatives.

Voting polls in Jackson County will be open for 12 consecutive hours from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in each precinct, and voters must bring some form of identification in order to vote.

Races included on the ballot are:

Jackson Heights USD 335

Position one: David Allen.

Position two: Melinda Wareham.

Position three: Neal Keeler.

Position seven: Konrad Coe.

Holton USD 336

Position one: Rex Frazier.

Position two: Orin Marshall.

Position three: Shelby Patch.

Position seven: Carl Matousek.

Royal Valley USD 337

Position one: Jim O’Toole and Raphael Wahwassuck.

Position two: Boone Smith.

Position three: Pat Tuck and Jason Klotz.

Position seven: Cindy Broxterman, Elizabeth Long-Smith and Barbara Walder-Hittle. 

In addition, a few county residents live within the boundaries of additional school districts and will be voting on people seeking election to boards in USD 321, USD 322, USD 113, USD 430, USD 377, USD 338 and USD 340.

City council positions that are included in the spring election are:

Circleville: Edward Rostetter for mayor and LeRoy Shupe, Judy Olson and Eric Deneault for two available positions on the council.

Delia: Donna Knehans and Teresa Robb for three available positions on the council.

Denison: Bruce Sweany for mayor and Harold McAlexander and James Hindman for two available positions on the council.

Holton: Tim Morris and Blair Wagner for position one on the city commission. 

Hoyt: Farrell Holthaus, Nathan McAlister and Leonard Allen for three available positions on the council.

Mayetta: Damian Brackenbury and Rudy Schmidt for three available positions on the council.

Netawaka: Bruce Meininger for mayor and Kevin Schmitz, Jarred Rethman, Doug Amon, Bob Lamberson and Daryl Wilson for five available positions on the council.

Soldier: Luke Geist and Paula Keating for mayor and Jackie Tannahill, Nina Reed, Brenda Holliday-Stanton, Dakota Keating, Ida Nadeau and Penny Ludlow for five available positions on the council

Whiting: Larry Eubanks, Richard Archer and Matthew Honas for five available positions on the council. No one filed for mayor.

There are also two positions on the Meadowlark Extension District #7 council that will be included in the spring election. Henriette Area and Jeri Albright have filed for those positions, it was reported.

Poll locations include:

Adrian Township: Delia Community Center.

Banner Township: Courthouse.

Cedar Township and City of Mayetta: St. Francis Xavier Church.

Douglas Township and City of Hoyt: Hoyt Community Building.

Franklin Township: Courthouse.

Garfield Township and City of Denison: Denison Community      Building.

Grant Township: Soldier City Hall-Community Center.

Jefferson Township and City of Circleville: Circleville Christian Church.

Liberty Township: Courthouse.

Lincoln Township: St. Francis Xavier Church.

Netawaka Township and City of Netawaka: Netawaka Community Building.

Soldier Township and City of Soldier: Soldier City Hall-Community Center.

St. Creek Township: Whiting Community Center.

Washington Township and City of Delia: Delia Community Center.

Whiting Township and City of Whiting: Whiting Community Center.

Holton Ward 1, 2 and 3: Jackson County Fair Building.

For more information about the election, call the county clerk’s office at 364-5200.

The Holton Recorder

109 W. Fourth St.
Holton, KS 66436
Phone: 785-364-3141

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed