Several more file for spring election

Deadline to register is Tuesday

Several more Jackson County residents have filed for school board positions in the spring election, according to the Jackson County Clerk’s Office.

Positions one, two, three and seven on Jackson Heights, Holton and Royal Valley school boards will be included on the April 7 ballot. The deadline to file for the election is Tuesday, Jan. 27. 

This past week, incumbents David Allen (position one on the Jackson Heights board) and Melinda Wareham (position two on the Jackson Heights board) filed for the election.

Raphael Wahwassuck has filed for position one on the Royal Valley board. That position is currently held by Jim O’Toole, who has not yet filed for re-election.

Barbara Walder-Hittle is the third person to file for position seven on the Royal Valley board. Cindy Broxterman and Elizabeth Long-Smith have also filed for the seat, which is currently held by Rusty Douglas. Douglas has not filed for the election.

Residents seeking school board positions must register at the Jackson County Clerk’s Office.

Several city council and mayoral positions in Jackson County’s cities – Circleville, Delia, Denison, Holton, Hoyt, Mayetta, Netawaka, Soldier, Wetmore, Whiting – will also be on the spring ballot.

To file for a city council or mayoral position, candidates must register with their city clerk.

For more information about the election, call the Jackson County Clerk’s Office at 785-364-2891. 

The Holton Recorder

109 W. Fourth St.
Holton, KS 66436
Phone: 785-364-3141

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed