Local students selected for Kansas Honors Program

Thirty-five high school seniors from Jackson and Nemaha counties will gather Wednesday evening, Feb. 25 at Holton’s First United Methodist Church for the annual Kansas Honors Program recognition of the top 10 percent of this year’s graduating class.

The University of Kansas Alumni Association and the KU Endowment Association will again present the Honors Program dinner that evening to honor seniors from the two counties that presently rank at the academic top of their respective classes.

The Kansas Honors Program, a KU tradition since 1971, recognizes and awards high school seniors for their academic achievements. Each year, KU alumni gather in more than 35 locations across the state for an awards ceremony and honorary dinner or reception. This year’s scheduled guest speaker is Rick Ginsberg, KU dean of education.

All high-school seniors who rank academically in the top 10 percent of their class are asked to attend as guests of the Alumni Association with their parents, principals and superintendents. In the program’s four-decade history, the Association has honored more than 125,000 exceptional high school seniors.

Jackson County area students to be honored include:

* Holton: Garett Beecher, Tori Bontrager, Ashley Cook, Dean Klahr, Kelcie Matousek, Madison Reith, Trey Tanking, Taryn Weilert and Karl Wilhelm.

Jackson Heights: Aidan Allen, Jessica Keehn and William Patterson.

Royal Valley: Hannah Beam, Brandon Broxterman, Kassidy Dahl, Leanna Just, Leslie Schuetz, Brooke Slayton and MaRyka Smith.

Wetmore: Alisha Heitz and Keri Pfrang.

Students from Centralia, Nemaha Central (Seneca) and Sabetha high schools in Nemaha County also will be honored. Each of the Kansas Honor Scholars will receive a certificate and a special edition of Webster’s New College Dictionary.

Scholars are selected based on academic records through the previous semester that are provided by high school principals. Selections are made regardless of curricula (weighted or non-weighted), majors, occupational plans or higher-education goals. 

Matt and Paula Taylor of Holton are the site and Jackson County coordinators. Erika Buessing of Seneca is Nemaha County coordinator. Students and parents are asked to make their dinner reservations through their respective county coordinators.

Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and the Endowment Association; there is a $15 charge for the program and meal for parents, supporters and KU alumni. For more information, contact Jennifer Jackson Sanner at (785) 864-4760. 

The Holton Recorder

109 W. Fourth St.
Holton, KS 66436
Phone: 785-364-3141

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Greer Citizen newsletter feed